Hot Mama in a Velvet Dress Brownies

Since Mothers Day is this weekend, I thought it would be a good idea to have more than one posting this week.  My fellow cook/foodie volunteered to be my guest blogger for a delicious dessert.  Enjoy!

Hot Mama in a Velvet Dress Brownies

Cam and I have three things in common: advanced education with an undercurrent of hood tendencies, fanaticism of New Orleans Saints and a love of cooking. Cooking is in my blood. My Grandma was a professional cook for 30 years, and while she doesn’t share everything by instruction, she does teach if you observe.  I may not have always been in the kitchen, I know my way around one by instinct.  I cook with my heart, I cook with my soul and I ALWAYS cook with my music.

Anyway, since Cam didn’t want to make me brownies while I was half-dying, I decided to make some for my mom once I felt better. Mother’s Day is coming up, and what better way to express your love than baked goods from the heart? Ok, I’m actually overly aware that my Mom would prefer Dolce and Gabana Light Blue over baked anything, but that’s not the point. The point is that baked food is a great way to express your love for that special lady in your life who brought you in this world (and continuously threatens to take you out). Show your appreciation for your mom with this decadent dessert.

Playlist:

Strong Woman- Lalah Hathaway

Hey Soul Sister (Bounce Mix)- DJ B. Ford

Rolling In the Deep (Bounce Mix)

Go Harder- Yo Gotti

Wobble- V.I.C

Pretty Girl Rock- Keri Hilson

Sexy MF- Prince

Stuntin- Fly Guys

Love This Life- TI

Snapbacks and Tattoos- Driicky Graham

Horses- Playa Fly

Time Machine- Big K.R.I.T.

Dear Mama- Tupac

 

*Brownies:

1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/3 cups granulated sugar

1 1/3 cups brown sugar

4 large eggs, at room temperature

1 oz red food coloring (optional)

4 tsp pure vanilla bourbon

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp cayenne pepper

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Small package of pecan pieces

*NOTE: original recipe adapted from Newly Weds Blog and modified by DatGirlCChelle

ImageImage

Lemon Cream Cheese Glaze:

4oz cream cheese, softened

1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted

1 tsp vanilla bourbon

1 tsp lemon extract

1 tsp red food coloring (optional)

1 tbsp milk

Image

  1. Start by preheating the oven at 350 degrees F. Coat a 9×13 pan with oil (and flour if you desire. I don’t).
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter, white sugar and brown sugar.

Image

3. Add one egg at a time and mix well.

Image

Now since Cam is all about cooking safety and I’m just a fan of good sense, I feel I should tell you that at this point, it’s not a good idea to taste the batter. Eating raw eggs is a no-no. This has been your public health service announcement.

4.Next, add vanilla one tbsp. at a time to the batter, stirring in after each addition. Then add red food coloring. Mix   well.

Image

(I still have to scrape the sides. Don’t forget to do that or you will have an interesting texture and color for brownies)

5. In a second bowl, add flour, cocoa powder, salt, cayenne and cayenne. Blend together these dry ingredients by hand.

Image

Those little specs of red add a nice bit of heat at the end of a taste. I personally love it, but make sure your mom can handle food before you add pepper to your mixture.

6. Add dry ingredients to the batter a little at a time. I mix by spoon at this point because my very cheap mixer is not equipped for more than box mix cakes it helps keep the texture. I like to follow the country rule for not over mixing- never stir more than 100 times. If you can’t follow this rule, just make sure your dry ingredients are well incorporated.

Image

This is not slight work. Use that upper body strength!

7. Next add in your pecans and chips. Mix in by spoon.  Then pour batter into your pan and smooth evenly. Place the pan in the oven for 30-40 minutes. (I’d check at around 27 minutes).

Image

Let me put my confession right here: I added pecans for 2 reasons. First, my Mom LOVES pecans. Second, I’m allergic to them. This was my way of ensuring that I would not be on a terror with these delicious brownies… or at least I would have to pay a high cost for gobbling them down before she got to them.

8. While your brownies are cooking, mix up your glaze. Add your cream cheese, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla, lemon extract to a bowl and blend until smooth, but don’t over mix! Remember this isn’t a fluffy frosting, but there’s still no need to kill it with the mixer.

Image

This was my glaze before I got bored waiting on the brownies and decided to color it too. You can leave it this color and it will be just fine. Just find something more productive to do. Read an article, find that missing sock, hit a dougie- whatever.

9. Add you food coloring, cover and put in the refrigerator until you are ready for it.

Image

10. Use the toothpick test to ensure you have your desired consistency. I like mine slightly chewy. Some people like a cake consistency. If that’s you or you mom, go for a longer cooking time and a crumb free tooth pick sample.

Image

11. Let brownies cool before cutting into 16 equal-sized brownies and adding the glaze.

12. To plate:  Spoon glaze into a pastry bag (or if you are too lazy to prepare one, like me, plastic bag will do. Just cut a small opening at one end of the bag). Cut the top of a strawberry and slice it in half. Place half a strawberry on one brownie. Paste your glaze over the brownie and strawberry as you desire. Serve and enjoy!

Image

One thought on “Hot Mama in a Velvet Dress Brownies

Leave a Reply

